Rushing Around for Nothing…

random thought of the day

Why do we rush around everywhere in life?

Sometimes I watch the ants and bees rushing around the yard collecting their various packages and bustling them back to their homes.  I wonder if we look like that too.  Rushing around here and there with our assortment of appointments, errands, and other engagements.

Last night I hustled my kiddos thru supper and into the car, drove in a hurry to attempt to arrive in time to the appointed meeting I was late for, only to find that no one else had been able to attend.  As we sat in the meeting room and waited to see if anyone else would show up, I realized that I wouldn’t have had to rush around like a ninny, barking orders like a drill sergeant, and driving like a slightly deranged Nascar driver.

So I made a decision.  I decided it was okay to loiter awhile at the library and look around for some books to borrow.  I chose to drive the long way home and not feel pressured to get home as fast as possible.  Once we arrived home, I chose to take the time to curl up with one of those borrowed books and while the evening away delving into the realm of my imagination.

From now on when I find myself bustling around and feeling agitated, I’m going to remind myself to slow down and enjoy the journey not just the arrival to my destination.

TTFN,

The Blue Moon Thinker 🙂

Leave a Reply

