No More Grain…

Yes, you read that correctly.  I quit grain Cold Turkey! 😮

My family has a loooong list of allergies, food related and otherwise so I figured how hard could it be? 😀

Actually, I had no choice.  For some strange-oid reason I started reacting to grains.

At first it was a bit of tummy problems with wheat…well, let’s just say when we were out and about if I had to go I’d be like, “Drive husband, drive like the wind!  Quick it’s a McD’s!” …*grabs the wheel from the passenger side to help him turn faster*… Jumps out, pushing small children and old people out of the way….You get the idea.    #^^’#

So, I Obviously cut out the wheat.  I switched to rice and limited amounts of oatmeal.  That seemed to have worked wonderfully well until I started getting Ridiculous pain in my wrists and joints. It was horrible!  I couldn’t open anything, twisting open a container…forget it.  Popping open tupperware lids…I would just sit there and wonder how long it takes a person to starve to death…Upside-I’d lose weight. 😉

I went to my doc, talked to some friends, and decided to give up grain.  It worked!  No more pain!  Yay, me. 🙂

Of course all of this happened right before Thanksgiving.  Thankfully…Ooo, no pun intended, lol…I had already started experimenting with no grain recipes at the end of October, so it wasn’t too horrible having no grain during the holidays.

I did miss things like potatoe filling and gravy…I forgot I could have substituted white beans, xanthum gum, or potatoe starch in order to make the gravy.  :/

But I have had a ton of fun trying new recipes out.  I am allergic to nuts so it’s made the whole searching for grain free recipes a bit harder, but I Looooooove me some Pinterest.  So if I find a recipe that looks promising but calls for something I’m not cool with right now, I search for replacement ingredients. 😀

Here’s one I’ve never tried before.  I took all of our leftovers from the week.  We had beef barbeque, garlic green beans, baked potatoes, and I made turkey bacon.

I took all the leftover ingredients and mixed them in various ways, mixed up a few eggs, shredded some cheese, and cut up the bacon.

I placed the various mixes in different casserole dishes poured on the egg, cheese, and bacon pieces and sprinkled Parmesan over all.

They each came out different, tasted delish, and Most Importantly passed the Family Likee Test. 😀delish

Yummo!!   (^.^)

By the way, I discussed Cloud Bread in a previous post, but haven’t had a chance to try it out yet.  Anyone out there in internet land tried their hand at this recipe?  Or do you have any other yummo grain free recipes to share?  Please drop me a line in the Comments below. 😀

TTFN,

The Blue Moon Thinker 🙂

PS- Remember we’re all in this together.

And without Pinterestin’ ideas & Google I’d probably starve. 😀

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

