Random Thought of the Day…

Weather Vanes.
What are they used for exactly?

Weathervan

This is the one on top of our house. It’s pretty and goes well with the overall barn theme of our house, but other than pointing the direction of the wind, and scaring the begeebees out of us when we hear it creeeeeaking in the stairwell in the wee hours of it’s still dark in the morning, I’m not too sure what purpose it serves.

Maybe it’s a Pennsylvania thing? or a farmer thing? I’m not entirely certain.

My dad is a pilot, and loves all things airport/plane related, so for someone like him to want something like a weather vane would make a bit more sense to me.

Of course he only ever asked for a giant orange wind sock in the front yard, my mother just gave him a look and said something to the tune of, Whatchu talkin bout Willis?? LOL

So, Weather Vanes……My Random Thought of the Day.

TTFN,
The Bluemoon Thinker 🙂

P.S.-
Any of you out there in internet land want to enlighten me on the purpose of weather vanes on a house roof? If you do, please drop me a line or three in the comment box.
Happy Windsday!
….Perfect time for a Pooh Bear reference. 😉 😀

One thought on “Random Thought of the Day…

  1. The purpose in these modern times? My opinion is that it’s just for the decor. Since it’s on the house roof you can’t very well look out of your house window and see which way the wind is blowing. Well, if you ave a really long neck and head that can turn 360° I guess you could but that is highly improbable. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

