Step 2: Out the Door

Well, the other day I posted about Moving Forward… Step 1: Move Your Feet.

Here is my next post with a bit more on that subject … Step 2: Out the Door.

Today I had my first Watercolor lesson with my wonderful Art teacher, Elva Hurst, Aka the Chalktalk Lady.

I had first learned of her at our Homeschool Co-op.ย  My Randomkid Youngest took her son Joe Hurst’s Cartooning Class, more on that in another post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, when I wanted to learn watercolor for the illustrations in my book, I decided I would go to Miss Elva. ๐Ÿ˜€

Well.ย  What a ride to just get to my appointment.

I really feel like this isn’t just going to some art lesson for kicks, in my mind this is all a grand part of me Moving Forward in my life and embracing all that God created me to be. ๐Ÿ˜€

So, I shouldn’t wonder that there were challenges just to be able to get to my first destination. Lol

We ended up getting a bit of snow…just enough to make travel icky…and of course I had scheduled my lesson for 10am.ย  Bright and early right?ย  Also, bright, early, cold, icy, windy, drifty, and all around blech!ย  Hmmm, maybe I should back up… the evening before my lesson my hubby came in the door after a long day at work and announced that he was taking the van to work the next day…my lesson day…because his car was acting extra weird and he needed me to get it towed to the garage the next day…again, my lesson day.

My hubby was EXTRA apologetic, but with all the cold, snow, blech weather his houses aren’t drying well and he needs all the days in he can get….he is a drywall finisher. ๐Ÿ˜€ย  Drywallers like dry warm weather, not cold, wet weather. ๐Ÿ˜€

Anyhoo, so after Many apologies, I gave him a hug and got to work filing thru my friends in my mind to see Who might be available to give me a ride….that’s right, nothin’s gonna stop me now…don’t stop believin’…insert your choice of uplifting 80’s music here… Lol

Well, this K-razy weather has been hard on everyone’s cars.ย  So out of all the friends that live close to me, only 1 had a working vehicle and she usually had Co-op on the day of my art lesson. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

But guess what?ย  Cause of the crazy snow, her co-op canceled…something she was shocked about cause they actually canceled the night before already and they Never do that.ย  Sooooo a God thing…I love it when a plan comes together…A-team reference…. Looove it. ๐Ÿ˜€

Alright so day of, I got me a ride, I got me my art stuff, we are all ready…Step 2: Out the Door.

After a fun and sometimes bit hairy ride to Elva’s Studio… It was a bit slushy, slippy, and Icy….I had a blessed and wonderfantabulous time at my lesson.ย  Whew!

Step 1 & 2 Accomplished!ย  Yay! ย Look at me moving forward!

That’s right. Who’s movin forward? I’m movin’ forward. Uh h-uh, uh h-uh. Uh-huh, Uh- huh, Uh-huh… Emporers New Groove reference. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ooooo, and guess what?ย  I made 2 more appointments for lessons. *girlie squeal*

๐Ÿ™‚

I came home from my beginner lesson feeling sooo happy, that I tried out some of the beginner techniques Miss Elva showed me, all on my little lonesome. I practiced her techs in 2 diff paintings.

Here are my beginnings…I might add more to them, but I want to bring them and show Miss Elva first and see what she suggests. ๐Ÿ˜€

Forgive the pic quality I used my Ipod and they are just my first tries. ๐Ÿ™‚

snow effect watercolor

I plopped Snow on this one after I painted it, just to see what effect it would have. ๐Ÿ™‚

salt watercolor

I sprinkled salt in the sky on this one to see what the effect would be. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

TTFN,

The Bluemoon Thinker ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S.- Any of you out there in blogolog land have any Out the Door moments this week?ย  Or maybe just some Moments this week? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a line or 6 in the box as per usual. ๐Ÿ˜€

P.S.S.- I was painting the above watercolors today while listening to a cool music link over on Mescalime’s blog- Psychochromatic Redemption.ย  …..Thanks for the inspiring notes Mesca. ๐Ÿ˜€

Happy Steppin’ Ya’ll!ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

13 thoughts on “Step 2: Out the Door

    • Thank you very much. ๐Ÿ™‚
      And yes, there is something very soothing about watercolors. They are super fun to paint with and how the colors swirl and blend is cool to watch. Aaaaand you never Actually know what it’s gonna look like till it’s Completely dry. It’s Amaaaaaazing! ๐Ÿ˜€
      I’m sooo having a ton of fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  1. Glad the music I posted helped you realize these wonderful watercolor paintings. They are both great, but my favorite is the second one and the salt in the sky makes wonders. I created a whole story around it. Absolutely love it! Great work& Keep it up! Told you Randomkids weren’t lying ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. ๐Ÿ˜Š
      The Randomkids strike again. Lol
      My fave is the second one too. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I had just played the music loudly from the other room so I wouldn’t be distracted by my IPod. I went back later and actually Watched the video. The purple and ocean theme in the video was reflected in my watercolors. I didn’t even Try that. Duuuuuude. ๐Ÿ˜Ž
      Hopefully you will post your story. I would love to read it. ๐Ÿ˜€
      My Randomkid Younger started writing a story about the second painting too. Although he had started it before I added in the grasses. He was writing about a story that occurs on a different planet, but informed me I ruined his story because now it looks like a beach. Lol
      Luckily I had snapped a pic pre-plants…he has since forgiven me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Lol…again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

