Further Adventures in Grain Avoidance…

Yes, I have been going on a lot of Adventures lately. Lols  😉

Everything in my life is an Adventure… 😀

Adventures in Homeschooling, Adventures in Foodie Fun, Adventures in Illustrating, Adventures in Writing, Adventures in Artying, Adventures in Photography, Adventures in Exercise…..Wow!  I should film a Docu-Adventure of my life and put it on Youtube!!!   😮

I’d be a Sensation!  😮  😮   Lols 😉

Okay, So back to reality and my Adventures in Grain Avoidance.

Currently our family is going thru a time of Extremely Low Fundage…as in no dough, zilch mula, nada cash, nope on the monies.  🙂

It is that lovely time of the year known as tax season… we are Very behind…again.  Maybe someday we will be ahead and I will be pleasantly surprised when our accountant emails us with our tax information. 😀

Until then, I will just dream. 🙂

Anyhoo, we are on an Extremely tight budget….not a problem if I could just get cheapo crapola food for everyone at our local cheapo stores and Not Have to buy stinking organic and non-GMO Everything!….but that is not the case…Sigh.

So, this week and the last couple weeks, I’ve been stressing out about how I will cut the food budget.  Sigh…again.

The Randomkids and I started writing a weekly menu and that has helped some, but this week we are getting down to the gritty of the nitty gritty and we are coasting on fumes coinage wise for food for the fam. :/

So, I’m breakin out All the stops and actually Baking again. :O

I used to bake ALL of the time…Homemade granola, cookies, bread, tortillas, I even tried homemade noodles.  You name it, I was pretty much up to try it out…probs fail, but I’d still give it a go. 😉

That All changed when I started having reactions to grains.  First it started with wheat, then rice, then pretty much everything…sometimes it’s so severe I can’t even touch the grains…I’m of course in that type of reaction mode currently….so baking is a painful and annoying process. 😦

So, back to the story.  I decided that in order to help curb our food budget I would bake cookies and make Granola again for brekkers and possibly even try my hand at bread again….maybe. 😉

Well, it has been a slow process. :/

Yesterday I made pancakes…made with rice flour, it wasn’t toooo terribly bad.  My wrists and hands only ached for a few hours and I had the Randomkids deal with the dishes so I had minimal time spent actually handling the grain itself. 🙂

But today we are making Oatmeal raisin and Oatmeal craisin cookies….I’m a bit nervous to tell ya the truth.  Oatmeal is way closer to wheat then rice is and two nights ago when I made pizza toast for my peeps, I had to ask my Randomkid oldest to come down and help me.   As soon as I picked up the bag of bread my wrists and hands hurt so bad I couldn’t bend my fingers.   Weird! 😮

So, today I am Extremely nervous.  The Randomkiddos already assured me that they will do Everything.  Love those guys. 😀

I’m gonna give it a go and see what happens. 🙂

Well, I’m off to see the wizard…no, just kidding…I’m off to get my day started.  Have an awesome sauce kinda day today fellow blog travelers. 😀 😀

TTFN,

The Bluemoon Thinker  🙂

P.S.- Any of you have any Adventures in _________  …..fill in the blank.  😉

Wanna share?  Leave a line or 2 in the Comments below as per usual.

Later Taters! 😀

2 thoughts on “Further Adventures in Grain Avoidance…

    • I only recently…just before October of last year started having any problems with grains.
      If I lived anywhere else but the United States of Additives, I might not even have these ishes. lol
      My kiddos do way better with imported noodles from Italy than any type of pasta I tried stateside….even when I made my own. It’s the grain..even our non-Gmo grain isn’t as good as bread from another country. :/
      Who knows. 😦
      My oldest and hubster don’t do that great with milk.
      They seem to be cool with cheese and butter. So we buy goat milk.
      It took a bit to get used to, but we have a lovely dairy nearby that has Wonderful tasting goat milk. 😀
      I started the kiddos out on sheep and goat cheese which is very Distinctive shall we say and then introduced the milk.
      They thought the milk was awesome in comparison. Lols
      After avoiding cow milk for a few months I added in the cheese and butter and eventually non-gmo milk and they seem to be fine.
      We just don’t overdo.
      One of our downfalls sadly…The Overdo as We fondly refer to it. Lols
      Do you have ishes when you have any grain or just wheat?

      Like

Leave a Reply

