Risky Business…

I’m a writer.  There, I said it….Good grief, why is that so hard to get out. Lols

I’ve written a book and I’ve sent it out to my first level of official beta readers…..Risky business having other people look at your work. :/

For some people I know that doesn’t seem like much of a risk, but for me it’s Huge.
Putting your work out there for other people to critique or just plain read it is a frightening concept. 😮

Will they like it?  Will they hate it?  Will you ever be able to look them in eye in public again?  Will you feel awesome when you hear back from them?  Will you want to bury your pen and writers notebook in the back yard to never see the light of day again?  Aaaaaaaah! 😮 😮

So for me, it’s a gigantic risk. 🙂

But now it is done.
I finished all the edits on my book…at least what I could find.  😉

After reading it over and over and over for a few months it all looks the same after a while and you find yourself in a place where you just need to be done with it and get it out of your hands. 😀

So it took me all day of hiding myself from everyone and everything and giving myself a deadline of 2pm, but I got my edits done, my beta reader critique survey form completed, printed all of it out and packaged it up for my beta readers.

Ross

As you can tell I like to do it up right.  😉

I can’t help it, I like to decorate everything with stickers and drawings…it helps me express how I’m really feeling to the person I’m communicating with…..Probably why I’m the emoticon queen.  Lols  😀

Each person got a different envelope and I tried to put something different on each of them that would fit their interests.

Ross Manuscript 2

So my precious baby is all out of my hands now.  I won’t be hearing anything back for  at least a few weeks…I hope. 😉

I asked my beta readers to give their critiques back by the end of May…I figured that should be plenty of time for them to fit it into their busy lives and not sound too pushy.

Well, no rest for the weary. I’m jumpin’ off to keep workin’ on my robot drawings and to work on my second book in the series…. The Kitchen Caper….at least that’s what I’m callin’ it for now.  Lols

TTFN,

The Bluemoon Thinker  🙂

P.S.- Calculated risks….we take them everyday.  Have you taken any calculated risks this week?  Did you put Your pride or reputation on the line this week?  Feel free to leave a line or 5 in the box below as per usual.

Happy Risk Taking!  😀

5 thoughts on “Risky Business…

  1. So, May has come and gone, have you heard back from your Beta Readers and what did they think?

    Yes, I just joined the national ACFW online critique group and next week will be submitting the first chapter of my WIP to that group for feedback.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

