A Fish Tale…

Hello everybody! Long time, no see. 🙂

Ok, I said before on here somewhere that I homeschool my Randomkid.
Randomkid Senior graduated last year and my youngest Randomkid started his highschool years this year. Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay

Anyhoo, we are covering a lot of the basic courses that most freshman cover like Biology. We chose a Bio book that looked interesting and away the kid went on his little way. I figured we’d do some dissections…online and in real life and voila, instant credit with labs. A snap, right?
Wrong.

It turns out the Randomkid doesn’t do dissections…well, unless I want vomit everywhere.
Which I do not. 😉

Soooo, I turned on the creative juices, and tried to think of another way to get those lab hours in. :/

I did some Pooh Bear thinkin’, Pinterestin’ readin’, and some Face Book time wastin’.

While I was on FB I came across a vid about a teacher who gives his students fish to study like wildlife biologist.
I like that idea, soooo I shared the idea with some friends.

One of them had pond fish that she overwinters inside until it’s warm enough to put them back out in the pond.
She had a spare aquarium with two fish in it that she said we could use until spring.

At first I was a bit taken aback that she would let us borrow her fish, but we took her up on the offer.
We decided that we would observe her fish while they were in the aquarium and then see what changes happened to them after they were put into the pond.

So, the Randomkid learned how to break down the tank at her house and we set it back up at our house.

And That’s where all the adventure begins.
…But more on that the next time. ;D

The Bluemoon Thinker 🙂

Leave a Reply

